Poetics of Space

Sep 06 – Oct 16 2019

The concept soon becomes lifeless thinking since, by definition, it is classified thinking

Gaston Bachelard, The poetics of space (1958)

The name of this exhibition is an homage to the iconic thesis of Gaston Bachelard, and his phenomenological study of spaces. First published in 1958, this book focuses closely on the role which memory and intuition play in the way we perceive objects and spaces. Sensual experience compliments the familiar images which surround us: daily objects such as a closet or staircase can be perceived as lyrical decorations in a performance of memories and associations.

… there is a ground for taking the house as a tool for analysis of the human soul. <…> Our soul is an abode. And by remembering ‘houses’ and ‘rooms’, we learn to ‘abide’ within ourselves. Now everything becomes clear, the house images move in both directions: they are in use as much as we are in them…

Gaston Bachelard, The poetics of space (1958)

Bachelard’s methodology can be also used in order to analyse art. The first group exhibition of fābula gallery contains works by seven Russian artists. Painting, photography, sculpture, video art, textiles – the variety of media and techniques in the exhibition contrasts with the asceticism of the artistic message. All the works presented at the exhibition are reflections of deeply personal experiences. Spaces and objects passed through the artist’s imagination become poetry: the aesthetic component in them is separated from the conceptual, and the intuitive from the logical.

The true experience of space, according to Bachelard’s theory, can only be happy, since it is an act of creation and creativity liberates. Colour masses in the abstract works of Irina Starzhenetskaya and Elena Minaeva, the poetry of the material in the objects of Anatoly Komelin, Irina Zatulovskaya and Anna Kuznetsova – these exhibited works engage with each other and the historical interior surrounding them, creating that alchemy of the ‘peaceful space’, glorified by Bachelard.

Curators

  • Lena Fadèeva
  • Alina Chichikova
Share

Поэтика пространства

06 Сен – 16 Окт 2019

Концепт есть мысль, сданная в архив, а значит, это мертвая мысль

Г. Башляр, Поэтика пространства (1958)

Название выставки – оммаж культовой работе Гастона Башляра, посвященной феноменологии пространств. Впервые изданная в 1958 году, она посвящена исследованию той роли, которую интуиция и память играют в восприятии предметов и окружающих их пространств. Чувственный опыт значительно дополняет привычные образы, окружающие нас: такие ежедневные предметы как шкаф или лестница воспринимаются как лирические декорации в спектакле воспоминаний и ассоциаций.

… есть ли смысл взять дом в качестве инструмента анализа человеческой души? <…> Душа есть жилище. И когда мы вспоминаем о «домах», о «комнатах», мы учимся «жить» в самих себе. Уже теперь очевидно, что образы дома двойственны: они обитают в нас также, как мы обитаем в них.

Г. Башляр, Поэтика пространства (1958)

Методология Башляра применима и к объектам искусства. В первой групповой выставке галереи fābula собраны работы семи российских художников. Живопись, фотография, скульптура, видеоарт, работы из текстиля – разнообразие медиа и выразительных приемов в экспозиции контрастирует с аскетичностью художественного высказывания. Все работы, представленные на выставке – это образы личных переживаний. Пространства и предметы, пропущенные через воображение художника, становятся поэзией: эстетическая составляющая в них отделяется от концептуальной, а интуитивная – от логической.

Подлинное переживание пространства согласно теории Гастона Башляра может быть только абсолютно счастливым, так как это – акт творчества, а творчество освобождает. Пятна цвета в абстрактных работах Ирины Старженецкой и Елены Минаевой, поэзия материала в объектах Анатолия Комелина, Ирины Затуловской и Анны Кузнецовой – работы в экспозиции вступают в диалог друг с другом, отражаясь эхом в исторических элементах интерьера, в котором они выставлены, они создают пространство, умиротворяющее страсти большого города.

Кураторы

  • Lena Fadèeva
  • Alina Chichikova
Поделиться